A Hell of A lot of Thanks to Go Around!

I am sorry for two posts in one day, but…

In two days Americans will gather around the blessed, sacrificial bird and celebrate our lives with families and friends! We will be laughing, smiling, and loving as we pass the sweet potatoes and chug our wine. We will re-tell the same old stories and catch bigger fish in the new ones. We will praise our grandmas’, mothers’, and aunties’ cooking, and promise never to eat again, all the while looking forward to a cold turkey sandwich that night. Ah, my God, I love Thanksgiving and I love the American family!

When it’s all said and done, when the dishes are put away, the last bottle of wine uncorked, and the paps, uncles, and kids asleep, we will all take that moment of silence to ourselves and think of how damn lucky we all are.

This summer and fall have been a whirlwind for me. I moved to Portland, Maine with a boy I fell madly in love with almost two years ago. I moved in with him even though I vowed to friends in middle school never to live with a boy before marriage, yuck!

And now we have a cat together after an entire life of being a self proclaimed “dog person.”

I became a teacher and again fell madly in love, this time with “my kids.” Whether they know it or not, my students brighten my day and for the first time in my life I look forward to going to work. I hope that feeling never fades.

SistersAfter the move my world was rocked. My big sister was diagnosed with breast cancer and would start chemo almost immediately. I was hollowed. For days my imagination became a burden, filling me with fear and assuming the very worst.

But today, readers, I have a hell of a lot to be thankful for.

Yesterday my sister visited Magee Womens Hospital for her second chemo treatment. The first had made her pretty sick, so it was a sullen day for her and my mom. As usual, I said my prayers and went about my day, continuing to keep her in my thoughts.

Today we were truly blessed. My sister returned to Magee’s for her checkup, only to be informed that the doctors could no longer feel the lump!

This means the chemo has already started to shrink the cancer!

Upon hearing the news I asked my sister, “Do you even have cancer or did you just want extra Christmas gifts?” We had to laugh because Paige has been telling everyone that my sister wants more Breast Cancer memorabilia. Sequined fanny packs and all. So, if she did indeed fake this whole cancer thing, jokes on her! Hehehe 😉

Readers, friends, and family, I am so thankful for the time you take out of your day to read my blog, supporting my sister and family through all of this. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for sending hugs and kisses to my niece, for keeping my mom smiling, and my sister’s spirits high.

I hope you and your families have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I hope those of you who can’t be with your families will keep warm with friends, and I hope that all of you thank yourselves for being you; for being strong, loving, and faithful. And if you get the chance, hug your sister!

Much love,

Liv

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Hell of A lot of Thanks to Go Around!

  1. Robin Arnold

    You make me smile, cry and laugh! Thanks Olivia, your moms friend, Robin.

Leave a Reply

